GRiSO ghetto
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

12425 - Established June, 2013 - all GRiSO, all the time...

HomeRegisterLog in

In the Market for a Used G12 Soon - Advice?

Go down 
+7
Steak
H-E-ROSS
guzziownr
tocino
Pete Roper
beetle
muzhik
11 posters
AuthorMessage
muzhik
Don Abbondio
Don Abbondio
muzhik

In the Market for a Used G12 Soon - Advice? Empty
PostSubject: In the Market for a Used G12 Soon - Advice?   In the Market for a Used G12 Soon - Advice? Icon_minitime1Tue Dec 29, 2015 9:47 am

...and by "soon," I mean in the next 9 months -ish. I've been kicking around the idea for a couple years now - not in a big hurry.

Cliche as it seems, I'm pretty determined that my GRiSO has to be a Tenni 8V/SE - which if in not mistaken in the U.S. limits me to an '11 or a '12. I haven't called anyone when I've come across for sale ads, but it seems like the prices range from "How can it be that cheap?" to "How can he expect MORE than the original MSRP?"

What should I look for, and what should I stay away from? Looking for GRiSO-specific stuff, here.

I already know a little about the roller cam conversion controversy from doing some reading on this forum lately. What I don't know is how long Piaggio is extending the warranty on these cases. Are they using a mileage-only determination? Years since original purchase? I know either way I'll need the original owner to provide full service history records if I want to have warranty as an option. Ideally, it seems, I'd want to buy one that's already had the conversion done - or pick one up at the on the cheap side and be ready to spend the $1K+ for a kit.

Also, it seems I'll want one with the original factory exhaust or proof that the aftermarket exhaust was done in conjunction with a proper tune.